The Lake Region Solid Waste Authority is a consortium of six Kansas counties who joined together in 1995 to help each other solve solid waste issues, build recycling facilities, dispose of household hazardous waste properly, and encourage the public to Reduce, Reuse and Recycle.

The six-county Lake Region is a diverse geographically and demographically area. Miami and Franklin counties are semi-rural, with 12 percent population growth as they are on the southern edge of the Kansas City metropolitan area. Osage county is on the eastern edge of the Flint Hills and is gaining population from the Topeka metropolitan area. Linn, Anderson and Coffey counties to the south are far more rural, with topography ranging from hardwood forests in Linn County, along the Missouri border, to rolling plains in Coffey County.

With such diversity, the counties have forged a unique relationship to help solve the area's solid waste issues, allowing each county to maintain its autonomy, but at the same time, sharing information, technology, equipment and other resources.


Follow us for regular updates, news, and events from our office and many of our partners!

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Governing Board

LRSWA is governed by a Board of Directors made up of two voting members from each of the six county.

News & Events

See the latest events that are occurring within the LRSWA region and updates from the recycling or solid waste management industries.

Education & Outreach

LRSWA offers materials and presentations on landfills, recycling, household hazardous waste, composting, and other subjects.


A program that helps provide bikes for children and adults throughout the six countries.